The works of Award winning author, Rick Pipito, and more

Review: Alice Through The Looking Glass

Alice_Through_the_Looking_Glass_(film)_posterIn the second of my two reviews I felt it necessary to write this one for two reasons… 1) I don’t understand the critics of this film, and 2) Lewis Carroll was a huge inspiration in my own writing career.

That being said this review won’t have spoilers, but will be brief and to the point.  Critics have panned this movie so hard, and I just don’t get why.  Did they go into it thinking it was going to be an interpretation of the novel “Through The Looking Glass” and came out realizing it was nothing like it and had an older Alice?  Did they not see the previous movie and understand that Wonderland is supposed to be a little bit weird?

That’s exactly what this movie is.  It’s weird.  It’s strange.  It’s colorful.  The original two novels were all of that and more.  This isn’t the second part of Alice’s story, it’s the 4th.  This and its predecessor are sequels to the original novels where Alice is grown up now.  I give Hollywood credit for making an original story, and I can honestly say this was refreshing.

Would I see I again in the theaters?  No.  Would I tell you to see it in the theaters?  no.  But I do think anyone who enjoyed those stories growing up should rent it when it comes out on dvd and blu ray.  Don’t see it if you haven’t seen the previous movie because it might make you feel as though you missed something.  It references the other movie and doesn’t stand on its own if you’re unfamiliar with its predecessor.

I think what made me like this film, other than seeing it with my daughter, is that it goes out of its way to explain why certain characters are the way they are.  Why is the Queen of Hearts so bitter?  Why is the Hatter so mad?  It does this and more while having a good moral to the story.

It isn’t a movie to be taken seriously.  It’s a movie about friendship and fun.  A movie about dealing with real life stresses and escaping to a fantasy world.  It emphasizes that you cannot change the past, but only deal with it, learn from it and make the best of what’s to come.  And most of all it teaches that no matter how bad family feuds can be there will always be a way to patch up those things and find a common respect and love for one another.

The novels were better than the two sequel movies, but I feel as though the sequels fit into and respect the source material.  I give Through The Looking Glass 3 out of 5 sCrypt logos for decent story, character and visually stunning effects.

Leave a Reply

