The works of Award winning author, Rick Pipito, and more

Day 23 #authorlifemonth – 5 Star reads

There’s a few 5 star books I’ve read recently, and they range in genre.

First up is “The Patchwork Girl of Oz.”  I’ve been reading L. Frank Baum’s Oz novels along with my daughter.  I have her choose a character in the book to be, and she reads those lines, while I read the rest aloud to her.  For this book she was Scraps, the patchwork girl; Bungle, the glass cat; and Dorothy Gale.  It’s one of my favorite books in the series so far, second only to the Wonderful Wizard of Oz.

Second is a return to my childhood, as I read “Spider-Man: Maximum Carnage” with my son.  He is the role of Peter Parker/Spider-Man, and has loved every page.  It’s one of my favorite Spidey stories to date.

Next is H.G. Well’s “The Time Machine.”  It was the first classic movie I remember watching, and one of my favorite all time books.  When I began writing my next novel (A COURSE FOR HUMANITY – will be available next month), I wanted to check out some already existing time travel stories, and this was one of them.  I always find researching through fiction is just as important as through fact, because you don’t want to do something someone else has already done.  What fun would that be and where would be the originality?

As research goes, I do always try to base as much of my Fiction work in fact, so I also read “Black Holes and Time Warps: Einstein’s Outrageous Legacy”.  If you’re a science geek, then this is for you, but if you aren’t this is still an interesting and informative book.

What is on your shelf?  What have you read recently?  Share in the comments below.

16807055_10154876012525731_3631698078530928530_n

Leave a Reply

