The works of Award winning author, Rick Pipito, and more

Review: Star Trek Beyond

star-trek-beyond-living-one-sheeI finally had time to sit down and watch the newest Star Trek film, and came out of it with mixed feelings.  It was not a bad movie at all, but instead a slower paced installment than most of the others in the series.  So what made the 13th movie work, and what didn’t?  Here’s my brief review with some spoilery material.  If you just want my rating and skip all of the other comments, then scroll down to the last paragraph.

As I mentioned, the narrative was slow.  It felt like the first half of the movie was void of energy.  I was surprised at this, but it didn’t turn me away.  I wanted to see what was going on, and though the second half more than satisfied me I was left with a few questions unanswered.

Idris Elba’s character was a decent villain, but I felt like we didn’t get enough explanation as to how he’d extended his life and why he changed appearances.  It was awkward at times.  We also didn’t get further explanation on the weapon he was using.  We only got a brief origin of both of these and they could have used more clarity.

Those were my complaints.  It’s not a lot, but then again I don’t have many compliments either.  Here’s what I felt really worked… The feeling of a family.  They used the Kirk, Spock, McCoy connection to its finest.  Their feelings of doubt and wanting something other than what they had ended up being replaced by knowing that they are all a family of sorts, and it’d be dull without each other.

Leonard Nimoy’s death was addressed by having Spock learn of Spock Prime’s death.  It was written in well, and served as the catalyst for younger Spock’s feelings on life.  The picture of the original crew in Prime’s belongings was a surreal moment, that probably is the best tribute to the original series we will ever get.

Finally, onto Chekov.  Sadly Anton Yelchin has passed tragically at a young age.  He did such an amazing job bringing the character to life.  I don’t know how they will write him out of the series.  In the original series he was absent from season 1.  However they go about it I could see them tastefully replacing the character with Jayla as she easily shined in this film.  Plus it would be good to see more of her species and back story.

All in all it was far from the best Trek film, but certainly not the worst.  Its low moments were balanced by nostalgiac high moments making it a worthwhile rental.  I will always be a trek fan, so my hopes for the 14th movie are even higher now, as it will have to step up.  My final rating is 2.5 out of 5 sCrypt Coffins.  What did you think of Star Trek Beyond?

original-star-trek-crew

Leave a Reply

