spreading the talent

Interview about GENETIC MORSELS

“Genetic Morsels” interview with author Rick Pipito.  These are questions received by beta readers and others regarding the new novel and more.  Feel free to ask your own in the comments below.

Q: Tell us about GENETIC MORSELS and what inspired this novel.

Rick: An event has caused one generation of people to take the next step in human evolution.  While they struggle with their extraordinary abilities real world physics comes into play.  They must work together to bring down a corrupt politician who wants to exploit genetics in order to build a cabinet that will do anything he orders them to.  I grew up reading comic books, but to me there was always the realization that it was fake.  Certain things wouldn’t work in real life.  So I wanted to tell the story of would be superheroes and villains if they actually existed. 

Q: Were there any difficulties in writing this book?

Rick: The research into physics was fun, but science didn’t cover it all.  In order for the characters to have some semblance of abilities I had to bend the laws of science a tiny bit while trying to keep with the realistic feel and the scifi element of it.  That and I’d written myself into a corner with something while setting up the next book.  I had to figure out a way to explain certain things while keeping with my own continuity and still going toward my ultimate goal.

Q: Is there a planned audiobook conversion?

Rick: Yes.  My conversion of FLESH AND LEFTOVERS into audio format has done well.  It took a long time to record that because of scheduling with voice actors.  Plus I feel that using one narrator will work from here on out.  I’m currently working on a solo audio conversion of BLOOD THE SECOND HELPING, and hope to knock out at least two of my books a year until I catch up.  So, we’re looking at GENETIC MORSELS being in audio form probably in 2017 sometime.  Hopefully sooner.

 Q: What’s in the works now?

Rick: I’m researching and outlining for my next novel, PLANET ATE.  There’s also my second children’s book, A LITTLE BOY IN THE LAND OF SLEEPLESS KNIGHTS that I’m having illustrations done for.  I’ve got a dozen other writing projects that I’m always working on a little at a time.  I mean literally a dozen.  Lol.

 Q: If you had to choose one superpower, what would it be and why?

Rick: I’d like to travel to any point and place in time and just observe.  I try to explain mysteries of human history in my writing because it fascinates me.  Whether it is the deepest parts of outer space or right here under our feet I just want to know what the history books got right and wrong.  I want to be able to see how things were and how they will be.  I don’t want to actually be in these places and times, but watch them however and whenever I want without interfering. 

Q: Have you had any criticism of your works and how do you handle that?

Rick: I welcome criticism.  It helps me to learn and grow from my mistakes.  The biggest critique I’ve gotten is on FLESH AND LEFTOVERS.  While people love the story there are certain writing approaches that make it the weakest of my works.  It was my first book and will always hold a special place in my heart, but were I to write it now, I’d have taken different approaches.  I really have had overwhelming positive reviews on most of my books, so that keeps me going forward.  So far people are enjoying what I have done, and I hope to continue bringing good stuff to the table.  People who have read from the beginning have commented on how experience has shown me how to captivate an audience, and I cannot agree more.  I’m always willing to learn a little more to make it right.

Q: There’s an underlying political theme in GENETIC MORSELS.  Do politics today play a big role in your life?

Rick:  Yes to a certain extent.  I have strong core values and experience that influences the way I vote.  Unfortunately there haven’t been any good options recently, and I tend to vote for the lesser of two evils.  People refuse to budge from extreme beliefs on both sides, so we are stuck with issues that will never have an appeasing resolve.  I had to bring politics into it because it is the reality of our world today.  Media bias, public perception and corruption all play a part in the game that is played.

Q: Arguments often spur from political opinions.  Since your book on arguing is a few years old have you thought about doing an updated version, just to add a few things?

Rick: For the most part it is current, but there are some addendums I’d tack on to it.  My next version of it may just be the audiobook form when I do that.  It would be more like a version 2.0. 

Q: GENETIC MORSELS introduces a mostly new cast of characters.  Do you miss utilizing the already established ones?

Rick: Absolutely.  If these were real life situations people would die, become injured, grow old, etc.  There’s only so much they can experience and make it feel realistic.  I feel as though a lot of the characters are people I know because I’ve “worked” with them for so long.  I’ll admit that I shed tears when I kill a character off, but it has to be done at times.  As much as I miss some of the old ones, I now have a new cast of protagonists to focus on for a story or two.  That is very exciting to me.

Q: It seems your writing has come a long way since the beginning.  This being your 15th publication, where do you see yourself in another 5 years?

Rick: Writing full time for a living.  It has to be that way.  I can’t keep up with the voices in my head giving me ideas.  The only path that makes sense is to assist my wife’s culinary work (Homemade Delish), and do what I love to do (which other than being a dad to my two awesome kids is writing).

 

Q: You often find a way to foreshadow future books in each release.  Other than the evident topic of PLANET ATE, is there anything you can say about other teasers to come?

Rick: hmmm.  Okay. Let’s just say some things have not been forgotten.  Something or someone from the past will resurface in some form.  I won’t say more than that.  Just stay tuned.

Q: sCrypt Comics is now sCrypt Publishing.  Why the change?

Rick: I still plan on doing comic spinoffs.  The stories are already written for the next three.  They are however very time consuming.  I can cover more ground working on my own things than to also be directing a group of artists to get it right.  sCrypt Comics isn’t gone, it’s just incorporated into a larger picture.  I’m now doing audio books, novels, children’s books, and editing.  I also have plans to expand that into helping other independent authors along the way.  It just was time to state what is already happening by making the name change.  The ideas that my brother and I have for it are really exciting.

 

Q: Speaking of Dan (Pipito), tell us about the artwork he did for this cover.

Rick: Dan has been working in trilogy themes to coincide with each cover.  The first two trilogies had their own set approaches to the type of cover art we saw.  With this trilogy he felt that since science played such a huge part in it, that a classroom chalkboard would be a different type of touch.  I won’t say what his plans are for the next two novel covers, but they will compliment this one really well.

 

Q: Where can someone get a copy of your books?

Rick: All of my novels are available in paperback at www.lulu.com.  They are also available for the Kindle at www.amazon.com. My comics are at www.indypress.com and the audio book and future ones I release are available at www.audible.com and itunes. 

2 responses

  1. Love the title Genetic Morsels and looking forward to your second audio book as well 🙂

    July 24, 2015 at 1:44 am

    • Thanks Jeri, The second is being produced with much better quality and presentation. I’m excited to bring it sometime in the fall along with my next novel PLANET ATE around the holidays. 🙂

      July 24, 2015 at 10:30 am

Leave a Reply

