The works of Award winning author, Rick Pipito, and more

Why Aren’t Kids Reading?

This article says a lot about reading and society. check it out. I had to repost.

Quoth The Wordsmith

Child_with_red_hair_reading There’s been a lot of talk lately about the lack of kids reading for pleasure. It seems that the statistical numbers are dropping, and less children are finding solace in the written word. If you simply do a google search on the subject, a plethora of articles will appear with opinions and suggestions and discussions from all over the world. I’ll give you yet another.

I don’t remember ever despising books. I seem to have always savoured them, even as a very small child. However, I don’t think that this would be the case had I not been encouraged to read. It’s not like I come from a super rich family that could afford all of the new toys and gadgets. I am the product of a single mother who lived in her childhood home (with her parents and three brothers) for the first three years of my life. One…

View original post 549 more words

4 responses

  1. I agree I love reading so does my 3 year old girl but my 10 year old boy never reads hes got loads of different types as I bye them for him I really wish he wud read xx

    May 16, 2014 at 7:22 am

    • Boys are much more physical than girls early on. Since they are more hands on, I think boys are more visual readers than anything. Does your boy like superhero movies? Comic books are a great way to get a boy to read. When I was 10 I was just like him in that aspect, but I had been getting into comic books. That was all I’d read. Now I am a published author and read a good novel almost every day. I think it is just a matter of finding the subject he likes, and you’ll have a reader. Maybe not an avid one at first, but at least he will be somewhat interested in what is going on in a book. 🙂

      May 16, 2014 at 7:38 am

      • Yes that is a rrally good idea. He really likes the walking dead or anything to do with zombies so I want to try an get hold of a comic book to do with that as im not sure if the walking dead would be suitable for him as I think it has a lot of swearig in it. Thank you very much for the idea of a comic. X

        May 16, 2014 at 7:54 am

      • I’d say my “Flesh and Leftovers” spinoff comic is a great zombie choice for any fan, but it is not safe for a 10 year old. You might like the novel though haha. Keep us posted on what will work for him. If he likes zombies AND superheroes, check out Marvel Zombies. It is a mini series that you can get in trade paperback that involves an alternate world where all the heroes and villains turn into the walking dead.

        May 16, 2014 at 8:49 am

Leave a Reply

