The works of Award winning author, Rick Pipito, and more

Artist of The Month February 2013: Scott Modrzynski

It’s the first of the month again, and our next installment of Artist of the month is upon us. This time, we present Scott Modrzynski. We’d also like to thank Scott for providing us with another great bio!

Scott: “I was pumped that Rick and Dan asked me to be the Artist of the Month here at sCrypt Comics. I started writing a standard third person bio, and there is no way for that to sound anything but douchey, so if it still sounds that way in the first person, I guess I’m just a douchebag.

I’ve always been artistically inclined. Whether I’m any good at it is up to your eyes, but the fact remains, I enjoy viewing, studying and creating art. Mostly just the last part, though.

I went to Providence College in Rhode Island and accidentally spearheaded the “Digital Imagery” concentration to the Studio Art major, along with two classmates. After that, I bounced around, literally and figuratively, as a mascot for the Frisco Rough Riders, a graphic designer for a huge ad agency in New York City, then a small one, followed by a few well-paying freelance gigs, a three-year stint with the NHL’s New Jersey Devils where I combined graphic design and mascotry, and ultimately landed back in New York at the first ad agency as a freelancer after throwing tee shirts into the crowd at the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver.

Luckily, I’ve got the time to pursue other passions like moonlighting as a marathon runner (50 races in 50 states is the goal; 7 down so far – NY, NJ, OH, FL, RI, NV, MS), daylighting as a beach lifeguard every summer, and moodlighting notebooks and bristol board for my own graphic novel, which has no timetable. A neck injury and the big three-oh tag teamed to end my hopes of becoming a pro wrestler. I’m too old and brittle for huracanranas now.

My art made of food, Foogos, has been featured all over the web, notably on Yahoo, Robot 6 and slashfilm, as well as in Sports Illustrated (October 31, 2011). Lately, I’ve picked up a lot of pop culture painting commissions, and plan to showcase a series of unsold paintings at the Asbury Park Comic Con on March 30th.”

sCott (See what I did with his name there), illustrated the story “Annabelle & the Prince” for sCrypt Comics’ Bones At Breakfast: In Case Of Werewolf. And he loves cereal.

Check out his gallery of work below, as well as his site http://www.foo-gos.com for some mind blowing and amazing artwork done with food and more!

4 responses

  1. Thank Rick! Annabelle was a blast to work on!

    February 1, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    • Glad to have you on it too. Hope to bring you back again! 🙂

      February 1, 2013 at 8:47 pm

  2. Reblogged this on Foogos and commented:
    So Foogos and I popped up as the artist of the month over at sCrypt Comics. Booyah.

    February 1, 2013 at 2:23 pm

  3. Pingback: Artists of the Month: Recap April 2014 | scryptcomics

Leave a Reply

